Jury duty!

Yes, that’s right: I’m on jury duty at the moment.  Fortunately I got an interesting case (THAT I CAN’T TALK ABOUT, WHICH IS KILLING ME), so it’s not completely mind-numbing.

In the meantime, I’ve been trying to figure out what I want to write about here.  It’s funny: since I haven’t been writing, my food neuroses are much quieter.  When I don’t spend time every day thinking about them, my eating and exercise get easier, both mentally and scheduling-wise.  I dropped a few pounds just before ShoWest by adhering to the “Sort-of-Like-When-I-Was-In-College-But-Without-the-Crazy-Part” diet, and a central component of that was to stop thinking about it so much. 

Does that make sense?  It’s like I spend so much time THINKING about it that when it comes time to DO something, I’m already tired.  I feel like I’ve already spent so much time on it that I can’t bear to spend any more.  And when I don’t think about it so much, I have energy to do something about it. 

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about this.  It’s a puzzlement, as they say (sing?).

6 responses to “Jury duty!

  1. so interesting and not surprising to me about the blogging and foodstuff.
    I kept a food journal (private.kindof. taped to my dormroom closet) for a week and it was enough to almost push me over the edge.

  2. “It’s funny: since I haven’t been writing, my food neuroses are much quieter.” I have often wondered if the same would be true for me. I think I make myself crazier with my blog sometimes. Sigh.

  3. I do think that’s true. The more you focus on food, the more it takes over. But it’s hard to eat sensibly in our culture without thinking about it.

  4. Never thought about it, but it makes sense. At some point, it’s nice to be able to put food on back burner (which doesn’t mean eating the easiest most convenient whatever, as Emily warns), but just have it become more automatic. I don’t have much to say these days, mostly because food is becoming normal part of life, not obsession, and weight is stable. I’ll just say that it bugs me to no end that I’m 3 pounds overweight, and wear a size 6.

    There might be other reasons for your easier time these days, less stress from law school anticipation, work. I don’t know what your better offer is, but it seems that you’re one of few who enjoys your job, and why shake up your life? Or maybe that’s just my laziness talking, but I think you made the right choice.

  5. Maybe the key is to refocus that obsession to something else other than food. How about exercise? Maybe the obsession is like a commercial. The more time you see a commercial, the more likely you are to buy the product (or think favorably about it).

  6. I know EXACTLY what you mean. Blogging about fitness and WL both helps and hinders me. It seems like it takes so darned much concentration and focus – why can’t I just DO what I need to do and not inflate it into my whole life?

    Good luck with your jury duty.

Leave a Reply

