Huh. Turns out that NOT BEING CRAZY works pretty well. Who knew?

Sometimes there is such a thing as too much knowledge.  Those of us who are possessed by the demon of perfection and the drive to Do It Right tend to read all kinds of things, formulate plans and then beat ourselves up when we don’t meet our oh-so-lofty-and-perfect goals. 

Last week POD asked me if thinking kept me from doing.  Why, YES.  YES, IT DOES.  THANKS FOR POINTING THAT OUT.

Jerk.

😉

So last week I decided to Not Be Crazy anymore.  To do more and think less, as it were.  And to chuck the food journal, the exercise plan, the mental questions about whether or not I was doing it RIGHT.  I decided to take each meal as it came, to get some exercise every day, but not beat myself up if I missed a day, to just do – well, not my BEST, because my BEST is pretty damn good and pretty damn stressful – but to do my best version of GOOD ENOUGH.

And then it rained.  And my street flooded.  And I spent 2 days staying with my boss and his wife, eating their fantastic dinners, buying lunch at work, drinking 2-3 glasses of wine (with cheese!) every night, and not exercising.  I did my best to eat well, although I DID order beef stroganoff on buttered noodles in the commisary one day.  (YUM, in case you wondered.)

And you know what happened?  I lost half a pound last week. 

Yup.  You read that right.  It was a nice lesson, actually.  It was a good reminder, especially since I have a tendency to restrict my eating all day and then binge at night because I’m so FREAKIN’ HUNGRY.  But last week?  I did not do that.  I ate better, and just as importantly, I ate ENOUGH.  Huh.  Who knew that would work?

And tonight as I sit here, fresh from the shower, I know that I ran some errands tonight, and even though I got home later than I’d like, I still got a workout in.  Not 60 minutes, or even 45 – with weights and cardio, I topped out at 30 minutes – but it was better than nothing.  And the only reason I did it was because I wasn’t worried about not living up to my goals.  I didn’t think, “God, 60 minutes seems SO OVERWHELMING, and why even bother?  I’m tired, I’m cranky, and I won’t reach my goal anyway, so screw it.”  I just surfed the exercise cable channel until I found something fun and did it.  (I found CARDIOKE, and if you like your cardio loud and cheesy and if you like to sing along – IT WAS AWESOME.  I might even track down and buy the DVD.)

And I get to listen to my body.  I ate (approx.) 1/4 cup of guacamole/salsa mix for dinner tonight, and didn’t worry about it (what? It’s GOOD FAT).  I’m not particularly hungry.  I know I’ll be hungrier than usual in the morning, and that’s ok; I’ll eat 2 breakfasts or something like that, and it’ll all even out.  NICE.

I’ll see how this week goes, since it’s basically week 2 of Not Being Crazy.  Wonder if the honeymoon period will last?  😉

10 responses to “Huh. Turns out that NOT BEING CRAZY works pretty well. Who knew?

  1. three cheers for not being crazy!!

    I totally get bouts of that when it comes to my world of work and its one of the big reasons I adore being married.

    I have an AntiCrazyMaker who is forced to listen to me 24/7.

    when hes not traveling anyway.

  2. Good for you!

    Crazy has it’s place, but sometimes it’s nice to not be crazy, just to see what happens…..

  3. My money is on this being by far the best approach you’ve tried. You know why? Because it’s exactly how the human body is supposed to work. We weren’t born programmed with dietary information and factsheets and work out plans. We were born to eat and move and live.

    I’m not saying you’ll never binge again, you are aware it’s emotional just as much as physical. But deprivation never led anyone to anywhere but obsession or misery. Hopefully with your body on your side you’ll be strong enough to work out the emotional stuff. Good for you, there is freedom over that hill.

    Lola x

  4. That happened to me too! I had a week of bad eating and lost weight.

    I have a feeling that if I ate ‘bad’ every week, I wouldn’t lose — that’s how the weight problem got started. But not being too strict /all/ the time? The body seems to appreciate being spoiled a little 🙂

  5. woo for the lesser crazy!

    and cardioke? MUST GOOGLE NOW.

  6. “So last week I decided to Not Be Crazy anymore”

    Can you teach me how? 🙂

    I think it’s great you’re taking a normal approach to it all. It’s gotta work and make you content if you’re going to change the way you live right?
    Cardioke sounds awesome BTW…I already got caught singing along when I ran last year…he heh…

  7. Oh that’s beautiful! I was reading, waiting for the other shoe to drop, and instead, you bent down, lifted it off the floor and put it back on!

    In my Lean Eating, our coach posted an inspirational tidbit: when the hungry bear is chasing you, you don’t have to be the fastest one in the group. You just have to be a little bit faster than the slowest one.

    In case anyone missed the metaphor, she went on to tell us that in healthy habit-making, B+s are great. We’re so accustomed to striving for the A+ in the short run that we lose sight of our long term goals. Better to make slow and steady progress without fireworks than going down in flames.

    I love the idea of Cardioke. Can you drink tequila while you’re doing it? It would help boost my heart rate, I’m sure.

  8. Miz, I need an AntiCrazyMaker! That’s EXACTLY what I need! 😉

    Thanks, BL! Now I just have to figure out when crazy is good, and when it’s just . . . well . . . crazy. Ha!

    *hugs Lola until Lola gasps for air* I’M SO GLAD TO SEE YOU! I was thinking about you this morning, for some reason, and then here you were! 😀

    You know what’s weird though, Merry? I think I still ate fewer calories overall last week. I just wasn’t starving myself all day and then overcompensating at night. Bizarre.

    T, YOU MUSTMUSTMUST GOOGLE THE Cardioke.

    Geo, if I figure it out, I’ll let you know! (maybe I could make a million dollars teaching classes in it!) And yes, like I told T, you NEED to check out Cardioke. I think there’s only the one DVD, but it’s AWESOME.

  9. TDH, we posted at the same time!
    You just have to be a little bit faster than the slowest one.
    That’s HILARIOUS. I love it. 😀

    And yeah, I tend to forget that B+’s are actually PRETTY DAMN GOOD GRADES. I’m an (A for) all or nothing girl. Obviously THAT’S worked out well for me. Ahem.

    Also, tequila with Cardioke definitely has possibilities. Especially if you got a bunch of girlfriends together to work out. Hilarity will ensue. (Also, maybe personal-injury lawsuits, but WHATEVER.)

  10. Glad to hear the not-crazy is working. I am also working on that. Who knew that letting myself eat more would be a good thing. (Rather than eating so few calories I go crazy after three days and binge out)

Leave a Reply

