I’m Building an Ark

Just a quick thing.  Despite my best intentions, posting might be a little light the next couple of days.  Why, you ask?

Because it’s raining like crazy.

See, I live in a cul-de-sac.  The turn-in into my street doesn’t drain very well when it’s raining, although for some reason as soon as the rain STOPS, the water clears out pretty quickly.  So yesterday I left to run errands in the morning, and got back home aorund 1:00pm.  The water (which was non-existent when I left) was so deep on the sides of the road and in the turn-in to my street, that it was lapping up over the curb ONTO the sidewalk.  Did I mention that there is a pretty deep dip right there, too?  So altogether the water was probably about 10-12 inches deep at the deepest point, and about 10 feet across: all the way into the middle of the cross street. 

My car almost died trying to turn in, although the water was almost gone this morning.  Now, bear in mind, that I have a little car.  It sits low to the ground; I don’t think I’d have this kind of trouble in even a SLIGHTLY larger vehicle.  But I don’t have a larger vehicle.  I have my little Civic hatchback.

Tomorrow it’s supposed to rain for THIRTY-SIX HOURS STRAIGHT.  I’m packing a bag, and staying at my boss’s house for two nights, because I’m afraid that I might not be able to get back home.  Or worse, I might get HOME from work, only to be flooded in the next morning!  (Fortunately, my boss and his wife and I are all good friends!)  This IS unusually heavy rain for this area, so I’m hoping it’s not like this every winter.  If it is, I’m screwed.  Seriously.

I have a post I’m working on that I’m hoping to get up while I’m at work tomorrow.  But that will probably be it for the week. 

Yeesh.

10 responses to “I’m Building an Ark

  1. Holy crap – I didn’t realize it was raining that hard down there! Pontoon time?

  2. No kidding, does this suck or what? I went through a small lake crossing the bridge yesterday (yes, to go to the gym, and also my fav grocery where I can buy bulk stuff while listening to Snoop Dogg). Today I am either going to walk to the gym (1.5 miles), or I will take car and park a few blocks off where it’s free. I’ve decided that it’s time to buy a full length mirror, so many of my clothes are too big, and maybe if I can see how unattractive they look, I’ll get around to getting new ones.

    Enjoy the rain! At least the reservoirs are filling, I’ll be able to water my yard next summer.

  3. Yep, all the family is saying the storms are crazy. They all add “but we need it.”

    Y’know… swimming is good exercise. Just saying. 🙂

  4. I have a canoe you could borrow

  5. Bag Lady, YES. It was coming down in sheets yesterday. SHEETS, I TELL YOU. It does NOT rain like that in SoCal normally.

    Julie, seriously. This is why I don’t live somewhere else! But yeah, we DO need it. Hooray for El Nino! (And hooray that it only shows up every 5-10 years!! LOL!) Also, I vote “yes” on new clothes. Definitely. 😉

    Merry, I know we need it, but I don’t want to swim in the scary brown sewer water!! (Dude, they are EVACUATING the fire-burned areas around here, because landslides are a certainty. I should count my blessings that I don’t live in one of those areas.)

    Geosomin, that would be great! Transportation AND a workout! Though I’ll look funny in my office clothes and 3-inch heels, paddling down the street! LOL!

  6. It’s a freaking zoo storm up here too. I can’t even go home. *waaaah*

  7. Oh, POD!! I’m sorry you’re stuck! I know the feeling . . . *wrinkles nose*

  8. Wow, glad you are prepared. Stay safe!

  9. My kids still talk about a visit to my brother in LA when we got stuck in a rainstorm of biblical proportions. I think it was in 2003, so my younger son was only 5, but he still remembers it.

    I’m so flattered to see you’ve added me to your list o’ blogs! I don’t want to get all sappy or pompous, but it’s kind of an honor when a person whose writing you admire and who always manages to find interesting things to blog about (that would be you) includes you in their life. Thanks!

    TDH

  10. Thanks, Brittney! I’m sure I’ll be fine; fortunately my condo is above street level, so once I can actually get INTO it, I should be fine! LOL!

    TDH, yeah, we usually get one a year like this. Well, not quite like THIS, but a big one. I think this is an El Nino year, though and those are always hellacious. The last bad one I remember was in ’98, when I was in college. The streets were so flooded that the water line was up to the car windows!! Needless to say, school was closed for a week or so. (Also, AWWWW!! Thank you for the compliment! I love your blog, so I’m thrilled it’s up here!)

Leave a Reply

