Random Things – Including Some Improvement

Ok, random things first. 

I might be the only person left in the USA who hadn’t tried Jillian’s 30-Day Shred.  (Ok, except for MizFit, who I’m pretty sure still hasn’t tried it.)  First: if you love Jillian, as many do, you should take what I’m about to say with a grain of salt.  Ok, caveat over.  Regarding the DVD – the bad: Jillian is smug and a leeetle bit self-righteous.  The music sucks.  Neither Jillian nor her backup exercisers can find the beat of the sucky music either, so nothing – NOTHING I TELL YOU – has a discernible rhythm that is anything like the actual, you know, BEAT.  The ab work is not really enough to feel, let alone make a difference in strength.  It is also boring as all hell.

Now, the good: it is effective.  And it is 27 minutes long.  (The DVD says 20 minutes, but they lie.  I timed it.)  I got my heart rate up, broke a sweat and got enough strength training to feel a little sore the next day (in my arms and legs, anyway – see above re: inadequate ab work).  TWENTY. SEVEN. MINUTES. PEOPLE.  I will forgive a LOT of things for a 27-minute workout that actually WORKS.  Something tells me that this DVD, despite all the aforementioned sucky parts, will go into medium-heavy rotation in my workout schedule, especially on days when I have NO TIME.  And it’s effective enough that I will not feel ONE BIT GUILTY about a workout that is so short.

Now, on to other things.  I worked out this morning, so day 2 of the December exercise streak is still intact.  (I did the aforementioned Shred, to be precise.)  And I did some Beck stuff.  The last thing I left off doing was the exercise plan.  I got hung up on the fact that I couldn’t come up with the PERFECT plan.  So now, here’s the plan: get some exercise every day.  That’s it.  For now, I’m not going to be any pickier than that, and the extent of my planning will be, “what do I feel like doing this morning?”  (If the answer is “nothing,” I’ll probably end up doing T’s make-your-own-circuit.)  I’m also working on setting small goals, and planning to lose weight SLOWLY.  Which sucks, for those of us who like things NOWNOWNOW.  But NOWNOWNOW has gotten me where I AM nownownow, so maybe it’s not the best plan.  New plan, then: laterlaterlater.  Or at least, slowerslowerslower.  I’d like to lose 5 pounds before Jan. 1, although 4 would be good too, considering that the holidays are full of weight-loss pitfalls and family stress.  Fingers crossed.

Um.  I think that’s all for now.  Mostly because I’m freakin’ tired and am off to bed.  But overall, I’m feeling better – if by “better” you mean, “WAY more mentally stable,” which, at the moment, I do.

8 responses to “Random Things – Including Some Improvement

  1. I’m with Mizfit. Never tried it. If it helps you relax, unwind, and sleep, then I’m all for it!

  2. Also have not tried the Shred. And probably won’t. But then, I’m a rebel that way.

    Glad to hear you are feeling better and more mentally stable. I, on the other hand, have slipped right off the Richter Scale of stability down into a trough that makes the Pacific Rim look like a wee crack in the sidewalk.
    (does that analogy work, or does it just sound crazy? Crazy is good, too, though, ’cause…. you know.)
    In other words, got some news yesterday that shook my being to the core, and yes, I’m only dropping hints because it was so devastating that I’m not blogging about it yet, if ever. It may resolve itself and then I’d feel stupid for having mentioned it. I already feel stupid for having mentioned it, so let’s just forget it, okay?

  3. I’ve shredded but only cheese and cabbage and things like that. Jillian can kiss my butt. I’m glad you and she are close though. I’m for anything that works. 😉

  4. Ok, I feel MUCH better now! Clearly there are more than a few of us! LOL!

    Bag Lady, I hope everything is ok. I’m sending you an email.

  5. I haven’t shredded but I did read her book “Master Your Metabolism” which I liked.

    I am so with you on the nownownow stuff. I stopped weighing myself daily because it was only adding to that mentality. It is a very hard mental habit to break!

  6. Brittney, that’s one I’d like to read, too. I skimmed Final Cut, but wasn’t impressed with that one. I’ve heard good things about Master Your Metbolism, though.

    I still weigh myself most days, I have to admit. But at least I stopped weighing myself 2 and 3 times a day. Baby steps, and all that!

  7. *puts another mark down next to “people who have never done any of jillian’s stuff”*

  8. yep
    stilling staying SHREDLESS

    STILL HOLDING ON STRONG 🙂 TO MY REFUSAL…

Leave a Reply

