In Thanks

*energy woo-woo alert* (FYI: I use “God” in my prayers, but as far as I’m concerned, it’s a generic term.  I’ve also been known to use Mother God, Father God, Holy Spirit, Great Spirit – and Great Cosmic Muffin when I’m feeling a little flippant.  It’s all good.)

Dear God:

Today I am grateful for so many things.
Today I am grateful for a new day, a clean slate.
Today I am grateful for my arms, my legs, my hands, my feet.
Today I am grateful for my heart, my lungs, my muscles, my organs.
Today I will make gratitude my god.
I am giving thanks today.

Thank you God, for forgiving me when I cannot forgive myself.
Thank you God, for the opportunity, the willingness and the ability to be better.
Thank you God, for reminding me that I can walk around obstacles instead of trying to bash my way through them.
Thank you God, for this present moment.
I am giving thanks today.

I will not wait!
I will not wait until my life is more acceptable to me.
I am giving thanks today.
I will not wait until the pain in my body and soul is gone.
I am giving thanks today.
I will not wait until my finances are everything I wish they were.
I am giving thanks today.
I will not wait until scores are settled and debts are paid according to my (human) standards.
I am giving thanks today.

Today I am grateful for all that I have received and all that is yet to come.
Today I am grateful to stop running from the past and hiding from the future. 
Today I am grateful to see myself and others through the eyes of God.
Today I am grateful for both the big things and the little things.
I am giving thanks today.

I am giving thanks today.
Amen.

7 responses to “In Thanks

  1. I am grateful for good blog friends!

  2. This is incredibly powerful and moving. Would you mind if I kept a copy of it to read again?

  3. “I will not wait!
    I will not wait until my life is more acceptable to me.
    I am giving thanks today.”

    I love that….:)

  4. I am grateful for you.
    Your writing.
    How freakin smartinsightfulsnarkywittythoughtprovoking you are.
    for your gift of bloggin’friendship.

    Carla

  5. Merry, me too! Hooray! for blogging friends! 😀

    Nezu, sure, it’s all good. You might check out a book by Iyanla Vanzant called “Every Day I Pray.” I have to admit that my style of prayer has been HEAVILY influenced by her over the years.

    Geosomin, I really struggle with remembering that sometimes. I find myself thinking, “I will be so happy when x, y, z happens,” and I forget that the whole point is to be grateful NOW.

    Miz, aw! *beams* Thanks! I am DEFINITELY grateful for your friendship, and your fantastic writing. *hugs*

  6. Love this. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  7. What a wonderful list. I’m going to borrow some of those statements!

Leave a Reply

