Successes and Setbacks

Well, after my great weekend, I had a slip-up last night.  A friend came over that I hadn’t seen in months, and we stayed up really late – REALLY late – drinking wine and talking.  Between the 2 of us we polished off 3 bottles of wine, and I went to bed at 2:30 in the morning.  Needless to say, I did not get a workout in this morning.  Ahem.  And then, since my stomach was so upset from the wine, I ended up eating more fat and starch than I normally do, to settle it. 

But (in the success column) I did my best to mitigate the damage as much as possible.  So I had a breakfast burrito, and I added mayo to it (I know most people think that’s gross, but I love it), but I had a whole-wheat tortilla with spinach and egg whites (along with the cheese).  And at lunch I had a chicken quesadilla, but I also had a salad.  And I had some soup and crackers for dinner, which wasn’t horrible.  AND (cue the drumroll) I came home and TOTALLY did my exercise DVD, so that I didn’t get sucked into the whole “I can’t do this, I don’t know why I even bother trying” mindfuck.

So it’s kind of a draw.  And since I haven’t been drinking habitually, I’m not so worried about last night.  (It was a lot of wine, but we drank it over about 8 hours, along with a lot of water.  Don’t get me wrong, I was definitely drunk by the end of the night – I’m a lightweight – but it wasn’t the same as drinking a bottle and a half of wine over the course of 2 or 3 hours.) 

Also, I’ve been slacking a little bit on my Beck stuff.  I keep conveniently “forgetting” to read the affirmations, and to sit down while I eat.  I *am* getting better about giving myself credit for the good behaviors instead of just beating myself up about my setbacks (see above re: what I did right today), but overall my behaviors are starting slowly to slide back toward my “normal.”  And that is not acceptable to me. 

So I have to get back on track.  I got hung up on the “exercise” chapter, but I think I’m getting a handle on that now.  I have to keep reminding myself that I don’t have to do it perfectly, and that right now, something is better than nothing.  And I REALLY have to keep telling myself that I can always revise my plan next week or the week after or the week after that.  It’s not written anywhere that whatever I come up with now I have to stick with FOREVER.  Um, right.  I have a tendency to forget that. 

So, back to work.  Which is in itself a big win for me: having a setback, and not letting it derail me altogether.  Huh.  I just realized that.  That makes me kind of proud of myself.  😀

3 responses to “Successes and Setbacks

  1. you should be more than proud of yourself…it took me years and lots of trial and error to learn for ME that my life is never in balance.

    things just work in HARMONY and even that some BETTER than other days.

    Have a great thanksgiving.

    Miz, who canceled her trip to Disney 😦

  2. Good for you for not letting it derail you! My philosophy is that if I am leading a healthy lifestyle OVERALL, the occasional slip is acceptable. (I just need to get to the “healthy lifestyle overall” part……….)

  3. Quote du jour:

    “Finish each day
    And be done with it.
    You have done what you could.
    Some blunders and
    Absurdities have crept in.
    Forget them as soon as you can.”

    – Emerson

Leave a Reply

