Random Friday Stuff

Ok, I have to get to work, but wanted to check in. 

Today’s assignment is to eat slowly and mindfully.  I’m not sure how I feel about that; sometimes eating that way just makes me feel MORE deprived.  Like, “Hey, I better enjoy this because it’s ALL I GET.”  I think because when I ate very VERY little, that was how I ate: every bite was to be savored, because I had so few bites.  So I might not commit to “slowly.”  I’m good with “mindfully,” because that basically boils down to “enjoy what you eat,” and I can do that.  And I CAN commit to waiting 10 or 20 minutes before eating something else, because I do tend to eat quickly, and sometimes I think I’m still hungry, when in reality the food just hasn’t had time to hit my stomach yet.  So, we’ll see.

In other news, I’m going to start posting again over at the cooking blog.  Mom and I haven’t posted since August, what with all the family members dropping like flies (ok, just two – and they were old, granted), and other stuff going on (buy a house! go on a business trip! apply to law school! take the LSATs! etc.), so we’ll see if anyone is still reading.  😉

This weekend (Sunday) I’ll have a recipe for shrimp with quinoa and sun-dried tomatoes, all made with ingredients from Trader Joe’s!  Also 5-3-1 omelettes: 5 ingredients, 3 minutes, 1 dirty dish.  It’s pretty awesome (and is my healthy-eating-at-work staple).

I’ll keep posting over the weekend (I’m SO dedicated – ha!) because the Beck book doesn’t have days off.  Just FYI.  🙂

3 responses to “Random Friday Stuff

  1. Wow, cooking blog and relatives dropping like flies. I wonder if there was a coincidence?

    I have an idea for a post about Trader Joe’s but it has nothing to do with food. Darn it.

  2. I have a harder time eating mindfully when I’m by myself. That probably sounds odd, but when it’s just me, myself and I, the conversation gets pretty dull pretty quickly. It sounds bizarre, but I do a better job with the mindfulness when I’m reading a magazine or something. I can flip through the pages AND focus on tasting my food. This keeps me from wanting to hurry up and finish so that I can actually DO something.

    Just a thought 🙂 Mindfulness is hard!

  3. LOL, POD, I hope not! But then, you never know . . .

    Actually Grey, that makes some sense. I’ve noticed the same thing, although I hadn’t articulated it to myself. But yeah, I do have an easier time when I can distract myself from thinking about all the other things I think I SHOULD be doing.

Leave a Reply

