A Little of This, A Little of That, and Some Actual DeepThinkingGettingBackOnTrack Down Near the Bottom Somewhere

My skin has been craptastic lately.  Between junk food and alcohol and staying up late and PMS, it’s been dry and oily and breaking out and flaking off – ALL AT THE SAME DAMN TIME.  YOU try finding a cleanser/toner/moisturizer that fixes all that.  So, out of desperation, I decided to try something I’d read about in a few different places FOREVER ago: putting oil on my face.  Specifically olive oil, because that’s what I had in the fridge and damned if I was going to go buy oil just for my face, because I knew, I KNEW that it would be gross and make my skin oilier and my makeup slide off, but I WAS DESPERATE DAMMIT AND WILLING TO TRY ANYTHING, OK?!

So I washed my face and then rubbed some olive oil into it.  And then I did it again the next morning.  And then I put my makeup on and went to work.  And you know what?  I was NOT SHINY.  Not even a little bit around 3:00,when usually all my makeup comes off.  And by that night, my craptastic breakout (the cystic kind that you can’t cover up no matter HOW HARD YOU TRY, and that usually last for a week or 10 days) was GONE.  GONE, I TELL YOU!  And by the next morning, my skin was softer and not at all oily or dry.  WEIRD.  And also, YAY!  And all this was STILL DURING PMS AND JUNK FOOD INGESTION.  Wow.   Also, seriously, do you know how much money I could save by putting olive oil on my face instead of bazillion-dollar moisturizers???  NICE.  So try it.  It is AWESOME.

In other news, I did not go buy wine tonight.  And I had a shitty day.  And my favorite wine is on SALE: buy a bottle, get another one for a nickel.  And STILL I did not buy wine.  I did however come home and clean my house like there was a pack of wild dogs at my heels, which in a sense, there was.  I still want a glass of wine (or 3), but I’m no longer considering going back out to buy a bottle.  Small victories here, ok?

No gym since Tuesday.  I was going to go this morning.  My alarm went off, I hit snooze, argued with myself for a few minutes, dragged my ass out of bed, got dressed, drank some coffee, headed for the door, took hold of the knob, and . . . burst into tears.  Ooooooookay.  No gym this morning.  I sat on the couch and had another cup of coffee, then did a guided meditation off of my meditation playlist, and then did 20 minutes of Rodney Yee’s “A.M. Yoga,” during which I started crying AGAIN.  Huh.  Apparently there is a lot of shit going down in my brain somewhere.  Nothing to do but ride it out, I know, but in the meantime it SUCKS.

I spent most of today, and a good portion of the rest of the week for that matter, thinking (again) about weight loss and health.  I tend to get them confused on a semi-regular basis.  So I got my little book back out and remembered that plant fat makes my body happy and that alcohol and other sugars do not.  And that although I CAN lose weight by eating Lean Cuisine and drinking wine, I will pretty much feel like crap the entire time.  OH, YEAH.  BREAKING NEWS.  AGAIN.  *sigh* 

But I’ve been feeling really, “Fuck it, I’m just going to eat Doritos and camp on the couch with my wine/scotch/whatever, and stay up late and sleep in in the morning and use makeup to cover up the fact that I look like hell,” lately.  So I spent some time today remembering how I FEEL when I eat better and take care of myself.  When I get some exercise and some sleep.  When I get some things accomplished during the day.  OH, YEAH.  BREAKING NEWS.  I FEEL BETTER.  Who knew?  *rolls eyes*  But it helped.  It helped to remember that I DO feel better when I eat better, get some exercise and get some sleep.  It’s not just about a size in my jeans or a number on the scale.  The numbers are (almost) incidental.  But the difference in how I feel is tremendous.  THAT is why I have to stop treating my body like crap.  Not for the number, but for my sanity.  (Assuming that I can remember to MAINTAIN my sanity while striving to achieve sanity.  If that make sense.)

4 responses to “A Little of This, A Little of That, and Some Actual DeepThinkingGettingBackOnTrack Down Near the Bottom Somewhere

  1. Interesting about the olive oil, I’ll try that. Take care of your health first, too bad health and weight loss don’t always intertwine so comfortably.

  2. I’ve done the olive oil routine. My skin is extremely persnickety and all those damn additives can really irritate it. Almond oil works too.
    Though I’ve got very dry skin, I’ve had the breakout-and-flake out episodes. Y’know what worked for me? Lecithin. Flax seed oil works too, but sprinkling lecithin on the oatmeal cleared it up quite quickly.
    And congrats on the house cleaning instead of wine drinking routine! I read once where a therapist had a client call up, desperate for help, while the therapist was in the middle of another session. So she told the guy to clean out two drawers in a dresser and she’d call him in an hour. Apparently, cleaning helped him. Maybe addressing the chaos in the outer environment helps deal with the chaos inside too?

  3. I am totally going to try the olive oil thing! My skin is so dry it hurts and I just used up the last of my really expensive face lotion. I hope it works as well for me as it did for you!!

  4. Julie, I have to admit I’m loving the olive oil. Who knew?

    Merry, I’ll have to try lecithin. I wonder if it would help the eczema patch on my leg . . . and at the moment I’m using almond oil on my face, just because I have some and I’m not using it for food, so I might as well use it for something. I have to say that so far I like the olive oil better, though. Hmmmm . . . .

    Charlotte, let me know if it works! I’m really curious now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

