Busy, Busy!

Well, after a relaxing weekend, today is getting busy again already!  I did get up and make it to the gym this morning, so yay! for that!  I have to admit that I always find it distressing to realize how fast my fitness levels go downhill, though.  I guess that’s motivation to go back tomorrow, right?  😉

Work is cranking up.  I’m coordinating the second of our 2 annual conventions, so I’m collecting travel dates, laptop requests, company dinners, flight information, program advertising, poster advertising, lightboxes (which are those lit-from-behind posters that you see in movie theaters), convention registration, car rentals, and on and on and on.  I really enjoy it, but on top of my regular workload it’s a LOT of stuff.  Um.  Especially since I’m behind in my regular workload.  Yeeeeeeah. 

I’m also trying to learn to pack light.  If you knew me in person you would know how HILARIOUS that is.  I’m trying to pack all my stuff for the convention in a carry-on.  I’m arriving on Saturday, working through Thursday (including 2 semi-formal dinners), and then going to Disney World Friday and Saturday, flying back on Sunday.  In a carry-on.  We’ll see if I can do it!  Ha!

My mental state seems to be hanging together though.  I got off the booze (again), so my liver thanks me, as does my waistline.  And getting to the gym this morning took some willpower, but I was glad I went.  (Funny how often it works that way, you know?)  No happy hour drinks with my friend tonight (she’s having car trouble) and although I know it sounds bad, I’m glad she postponed.  Now I don’t have to worry about the calorie bomb of a lunch out combined with a happy hour!  I can break them up into different days, which makes me a little less anxious. 

I gave myself a bit of a talking-to over the weekend, though.  I keep waiting for the “right” time, the time when I “feel more like doing it,” whatever “it” may be.  But at some point, I have to recognize that there never WILL be a time when I “feel” like starting or stopping.  I never FEEL like going to the gym that first day, and I never FEEL like laying off the booze the first night.  I always think I need one more hour of sleep, one more glass of wine.  I never FEEL like making a change.  Stasis is comfortable even when it’s not comfortable, if that makes sense.  So I dragged my ass out of bed this morning, and away from the liquor cabinet last night. 

But true to form, I feel better today.  Funny how that works.  😉

4 responses to “Busy, Busy!

  1. See, this is a great argument for disposable clothing. That way, you could just wear it and toss it. Which would give you more room in your carry on to buy stuff while you’re on your trip 🙂

    Have fun!

  2. Merry, I’m not sure if you’re a genius or if I’m totally grossed out! LOL!!

  3. Sounds like you have a lot of interesting internal conversations that were a huge benefit. I am always amazed at how much better I feel post exercise and post NOT drinking. I like to have a drink but if I have one, afterward, I know it’s going to affect my weight and my body, liver, mind. As some therapist once told me it’s solvent. No wonder it’s not that good for us. Though I’m not quite sure that wine is solvent. But hard liquor would be.
    Either way, big decisions. And I forced myself on the elliptical tonight which for me is always harder (than early in my day) because I had no class for once. But class starts again next week!

    (Thanks for your comments the past few posts. I appreciate your input. I always found VanZant inspirational.)

  4. Also have fun fitting that stuff into one carryon. Take pictures!

Leave a Reply

