Blah, Blah, Blah

That pretty much sums it up.  (And I think I’ve used that post title before.  Hm.)  This week has been a little crazy – not the crazy-head kind, but the I’m-so-busy-I-don’t-have-time-to-breathe kind.

First off, thanks to Julie for suggesting that I binge on fruit if I’m really in a bad way.  I’ve been eating grapes and frozen berries, and it seems to work: a bit of a sugar hit, plus I get full so fast that I physically CAN’T keep eating.  So that works out.  And my skin looks FANTASTIC!  *cracks up*

I went back to the gym last week, too.  Just the treadmill, every morning for about 45 minutes (however long it takes to watch an episode of “Lost” or “Fringe” or something like that on my iPod).  At first, I was going to jump back into the weights too, but it turned out to be too easy to stay home and do them.  While that’s not inherently a bad thing, I was using it to justify not going to the gym at ALL, so I figured I’ll just do the treadmill for a few weeks: enough time to get back in the habit of going every morning.  And then I’ll add the weights back in, when I’m back in the habit of getting my ass to the gym and not blowing it off every chance I get.

In related news, I’m wondering how much of the downward spiral of the last month or two was exercise-related.  I already feel LOADS better.  My mood has leveled out, I’m not bingeing (ok, last night was bad, but that was the first bad night in the last 8 days, which is good) as much, I’m not drinking like a fish, I’m not laying in bed and crying for hours, I’m not sitting on the couch staring blankly at the TV all night.  In a way I’m glad for that downward spiral, because it puts exercise in a whole new light: it’s not a weight-loss thing, it’s a sanity thing.  I need to get my ass to the gym not so I can Lose Weight and Get Skinny but so that I can handle day-t0-day existence without drinking and bingeing and crying all the time.  I don’t think I’d realized until just the last few days how MUCH of an effect it has on my system.  I knew it helped, but I didn’t really realize that it was the difference between feeling normal and feeling totally overwhelmed by EVERYTHING.  Good to know.

6 responses to “Blah, Blah, Blah

  1. you know, j works out for the length of one episode, too.

  2. Congrats on the progress! I feel the same way about my exercise:) And I love the tip about fruit – I’ll have to try that.

  3. Ive thought a lot about the exercise mitigating depressing thing lately
    I seem to be the LAST OF THE LAST in my family not on antidepressants & Im beginning to wonder if my cardio (not lots but DAILY) isnt the reason why!

  4. I’m really glad the fruit is helping. It’s a great time of the year for fruit eating, and you’re right, you get full very quickly. I hear you on the exercise, my world definitely breaks down without it. Glad things are getting better for you.

  5. Sounds like you are doing great – congrats! Serious really really does help on so many different levels.

  6. LOL, Emily, the more you talk about him, the more I think J must be my brother from another mother. For serious. 😉

    Seriously Charlotte, the fruit is helping a LOT.

    Carla, I’d bet that daily cardio has a lot to do with it. More on that in the whole “Younger Next Year” book review . . . exercise as medication! Woo-hoo!

    Thanks, Julie. And I actually like summer fruit (as opposed to winter fruit: I’m not crazy about apples and citrus), so it’s going well.

    Thanks, Missicat! I’m actually amazed at how much the exercise helps. It almost doesn’t make sense, except that I’ve read the research that explains it. But it still seems weird that something so small (relatively speaking) would have such an impact, you know?

Leave a Reply

