Wins and Losses – and a pre-book review

Last night I drove past the Trader Joe’s near my work without stopping for a $5 bottle of wine.  That was self-discipline.

Then I drove past the Ralph’s by my house without stopping for a $10 bottle of wine.  That was just because I’m broke.  (No, really.  I TOTALLY would have stopped if I’d had the money.)

I did not want to lift weights.  At all.  With a fiery passion I did NOT want to lift weights.  But I did.  I bribed myself with a Kahlua and milk (though I’m not crazy about Kahlua and milk) and cried through the first half because I just felt emotionally overwhelmed and tired and I DIDN’T WANT TO DO THIS.  But I didn’t cry through the second half.  And I felt better.  And I remembered that I’m not all that crazy about Kahlua and milk, so I ended up throwing most of it away.  And I made dinner and signed some paperwork for the condo and cleaned the bathroom.

And then I went to bed at a decent hour and then got up at 4 and went to the gym.  And DIDN’T MIND OR FEEL OVERWHELMED.

I’ve been re-reading “Younger Next Year for Women,” which I LOVE.  Seriously, if you haven’t read it, go get a copy.  I’ve read it several times now, and it’s FANTASTIC.  It’s got funny bits and science-y bits and lots of practical info that doesn’t center around “Getting Thin Healthy!”  Have you read it?  Hated it?  Loved it?  I might have to write a belated review when I’m done reading it (again).

8 responses to “Wins and Losses – and a pre-book review

  1. Write a review. I have not read it. I am old(er).

  2. Does it matter that I am older or would the book make me younger next year? Cuz I could go for some of that.

  3. I’d love a review if you get around to it, but I’ll look for it at the Strand this week when I pass by.

  4. WOW FIREY PASSION?!

    that sounds like some good strong stuff to channel the irons way 🙂

  5. I read the original Younger Next Year. They, too, have chosen to re-write a perfectly acceptable book to aim at the female market?? (sigh)…

    I wonder if it says anything new??

    The book did a lot to inspire me to work harder and move more. Love it. Please write a review of this one.

  6. I too went very reluctantly to lift weights today and by the end was so glad I went!

    but some days it’s like pulling teeth.

    Sounds like the book is really inspirational!

  7. how are you doing?

  8. Defintely write a review!
    I hear ya on the wine thing. Been there.

Leave a Reply

