Ow Ow Ow

I (re-)started my exercise program last week: 3 days of weights (as prescribed by the New Rules of Lifting for Women) and 2, sometimes 3 days of running on the treadmill (hey, I’ve got to get my Lost fix somewhere!).

But this week?  No treadmill for me.  See, I went out with a friend on Sunday.  Into the sunshine.  Little pale me.  See where this is going?  Didn’t really stop to THINK about how long I’d be out, just traipsed out blithely.

And burned.  A lot.  Across my chest (I was wearing a cardigan, so my shoulders and arms are safe).  Unfortunately, the part of my chest that hurts so much is exactly the part where my sportsbras sit.  Ow ow ow.  So no running this week.  *sigh*  Way to go, Marste. 

In other news, I’m consuming significantly less alcohol this week.  (Yeah, I know that’s not saying much, but I’ll take any progress I can get, ok?)  Actually, I feel better overall, so the drive to binge (either on food or alcohol) isn’t as bad this week.  The last couple of weeks were rough, emotionally speaking, and things have sort of leveled out. 

In other news . . . no, wait.  That’s pretty much it for the food Crazies. 

I talked to a mortgage broker this week though, and got some info about buying a house/condo.  It’s totally do-able, but I’m completely freaked out anyway.  I’ve been doing my budget over and over (and over and over) to make sure I can really afford what I’m looking at.  And I can, but it’s harrowing anyway.  A house – even a condo, which is what I’m likely looking at – is a LOT of money.  Holy crapalanche.

Also, I’m thinking about getting a paralegal certificate to see if I really like entertainment law as much as I think I do.  And if I DO like it, I might look at going to law school.  All that’s still in the “thinking about” stage though, so don’t get too excited.  😉

Big things afoot around here.  Let’s just say I’ll be glad to get back to the gym next week and burn off some stress on the treadmill.

7 responses to “Ow Ow Ow

  1. so many thoughts.
    My tattood leg is sore and every one is telling me how “YEAH I KNOW. BEEN THERE. FEELS LIKE A BAAAAD SUNBURN”

    Never had a bad sunburn and reading your blog made me think you must feel like you have tattoochest.

    I think the paralegal idea is SUCH a good one. Back in my career counseling days thats 100% what Id have encouraged someone to do.

    a way to try on the career before buying.

    just my .02

  2. Progress is great! Too many try for perfection, rather than small steps, and it usually leads to fail. As for the house, good luck, it’s scary out there right now. I don’t know when the economy is really going to turn, hard to tell where housing bottom is, or whether you’d just stand under a falling knife.

  3. I feel for you with the sunburn! I’ve had many in my lifetime.

    And I totally agree with Mizfit on the ‘trying on the career’ to see if it fits!

    Buying a house is scary, but such a good idea. I always hated the thought of paying someone else’s mortgage when I was renting!

  4. I hear ya on the sunburn – I too am a pale creature who burns soooo easily. Ouch!
    Good luck on the condo/house hunting – am thinking of taking the plunge myself. It’s a bit scary!

  5. Oh, Miz, I’m feeling the suburn-ish tattoo pain, then. SUCKS.

    Yeah Julie, I’m a little stressed. Then again, I live in Los Angeles, and I plan on staying in a condo for 5-7 years or so, so regardless of what happens in the next year or two, I can be pretty assured of SOME sort of appreciation by the time I move. I think. LOL.

    BL, I imagine you’ve had more than I have, out in the sun working all the time!

    Missicat, this is totally the time to buy! That’s what I keep telling myself: it’s a stretch now, but I’ll be kicking myself in 4 years if I don’t, you know?

  6. I don’t regret buying my house last year — even though it’s worth less now to the bank, it’s still worth it to me. But then, I’m not planning to move.
    And I think a nasty sunburn is a good reason not to get out there and run!

  7. You are making progress, that’s all that matters 🙂 Great job!

    I hope your sunburn heals soon and you can get back to running…I know how much it sucks to not be able to run! I really need to start incorporating more weights into my routine, maybe I’ll have to check out that book.

    On a side note, my husband and I went to LA for our honeymoon and I would LOVE to live out there (if only all our family wasn’t out HERE!). Good luck with the condo/house hunt!

Leave a Reply

