Today I Am the Most Annoying Person Ever

I am in SUCH a good mood.  No, really.  I’m in a “the sun is shining, the grass is green, the orange and palm trees sway” sort of good mood.  (SUPER-bonus points if you what rendition of a certain song that is.)

I haven’t been going to the gym.  I haven’t really been eating much better. (Well, ok, better than last week, but not better than USUAL.)  I haven’t been turning off the TV at night.

I’ve been getting enough sleep.  It’s like a miracle drug, I tell you!  Who knew?  (Ok, lots of people.  Especially science-y people.  Who do lots of studies.  THEY knew.)  I’ve only had 3 nights of sleep now, but I can already feel a TREMENDOUS difference.  Last night I turned off my light at 9:30, figuring I’d get up at 5:30, just to see if I felt awake.

I was awake at 4:15.  AWAKE awake.  Like, “I’ve had enough sleep, when does the day start?”  (No, I didn’t get up.  I went back to sleep after about 20 minutes and dozed off and on until 6:00.)

And I’m getting work done today.  And I’m not pissy with people.  AND I DIDN’T EVEN HAVE CAFFEINE THIS MORNING, PEOPLE!  THAT’S HUGE!  This is pretty amazing.  I’ve been bopping around with a smile on my face all day, which is annoying the hell out of my co-workers, which in turn cracks me UP.

And the food issues?  Not so much.  No cravings for weird foods, no freak-outs.  (Part of that might also be because I’m eating WAY less sugar: no alcohol, and I haven’t really been eating much starch in general.  But that is a concentrated experiment for a different day.)

I’m also meditating 10 minutes a day (which isn’t much, but it’s better than nothing) and that’s contributing to the mood, but I was doing that BEFORE I started sleeping.  So I’m thinking that 90% of this is the sleep. 

Wow.

4 responses to “Today I Am the Most Annoying Person Ever

  1. Yay!! Sleep is great!
    I fell asleep on the couch last night – dozed off really – and my honey woke me up about 9:15 to go to bed. This morning? I felt GREAT. (Course now I’m tired again. But that is par for the course for me. I think part of it is my job. Or most of it. I’ll find out next month.)

  2. Okay, now you’re pissing ME off!! (kidding!!)

    It is amazing what sleep does for a body! Glad to hear things are going well for you… I’ll take my uber-depressed ass somewhere else…. there must be another cranky blogger somewhere out there I can go hang with…. wonder what Crabby’s up to?
    …………..whoosh……………..

  3. Hooray for sleep! So glad you’re getting your allotment; makes a huge difference. That’s excellent news!

  4. My mom insists that most of the ills of the world could be cured if everyone got a good night’s sleep. I don’t know about the world, but I know that’s generally true for me. It’s not just more energy–I genuinely feel happier if I’ve had 8 hours of sleep as opposed to, say, 6.

    Additionally, I find it fascinating that people are annoyed by other people being cheerful and happy. Is our culture that cynical? Or are we just envious? *grin*

    At any rate, good for you!

Leave a Reply

