Christmas Chaos and the Year of the Reboot

Holy cow, people.  I’m back!  Here I am!  LOL, I’ve been out of town for a week and a half, and despite my best bloggy intentions, there was no posting (obviously).  There was hardly any internet-connecting at ALL to be honest, and my emails?  Are freakin’ RIDICULOUS right now.  Hoooooooly cow.

Well, most of my “eat well and exercise” plans went out the door last week.  But I didn’t gain as much as I thought (not even half as much as I thought I would), so I’m not freaked out.  (I did go to the gym ONCE, but that was the end of it, LOL.)  It was interesting to watch the family dynamics, though.  We’re big emotional eaters (and drinkers) in my family, especially as it relates to stress.  And since the holidays are always a little stressful . . . let’s just say I had my fair share of onion dip and biscuits and gravy (but not all three together – that would be gross).

Aaaaaaaaanyway.  I got to see my family, and I got a week off of work, which I DESPERATELY needed.  I’d gotten to the point where EVERYTHING irritated me, and it wasn’t even rational anymore.  So I feel a LOT better now, LOL.  And I’m glad to be back home, where I can eat normally, and not drink so much and go back to the gym.

(True confession, though: I did NOT go to the gym this morning.  See, “Sound of Music” was on network TV last night, and even though I OWN the DVD, it’s DIFFERENT when it’s on TV during the holiday season.  It MUST. BE. WATCHED.  It’s TRADITIONAL.  So I stayed up until almost midnight watching it.  Good times.  But it definitely meant that there was no 4am wake-up call this morning.)

And I think this year (2009) is the year of reboot.  Last year (2008) turned out to be the year of “Everything You Ever Thought You Wanted It Turns Out You Didn’t Want So Much and Oh, By The Way, Your Inability to Cope With That In A Healthy Manner Means That HI! Your Eating Habits TANKED!”  Um, yeah.  I basically spent the last 10 or 11 months of last year recovering from the first 1 or 2 months.  Good times (again).  So THIS YEAR is the Year of the Reboot.  I had lost sight of some things during the end of 2007 that I really DID want, mixed in with all the stuff it turned out I DIDN’T want (still with me?  I’m starting to confuse MYSELF), so I need to spend some time thinking about those things and what I’m willing to do in order to get them.  There might be a post to come on that later.  Or not.  I don’t know yet.  Regardless though, I need to take the next few days and look at some things: figure out what I want, what I don’t, etc.  I might even actually make a 5-year plan, which I’ve NEVER done before, mostly because I couldn’t decide what I wanted to be doing for the next 5 years.  But I might be ready to do that now.  I have some things I want to accomplish that won’t happen on their own, so I have to start making them happen.  Hence, a possible 5-year plan.  🙂

AND!  I might be buying a house this year!  Actually it’s about 90% likely, so I’m pretty excited!  I’m not sure exactly when; it will depend on what I can find that I can afford, and since I live in Los Angeles, I’m  primarily looking at foreclosures.  So it’s a matter of waiting for the right place to come along.  But hooray!  I’m so excited!  😀

In other news . . . wait.  I have no other news.  LOL.  Happy New Year!

8 responses to “Christmas Chaos and the Year of the Reboot

  1. *teensy tiny voice* “We’re supposed to have a 5 year plan?
    Shit. I can’t even stick to a 5 minute plan.”

    Ooooo – new house? New houses are so much fun…..
    If I had any money, I’d buy a house in Los Angeles, too.
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA All that humanity in one place? There are more people in Los Angeles than there are in the whole country of Canada. The Bag Lady’s country bumpkin-ness would definitely show then! Talk about your Beverly Hillbilly, (minus the money, unfortunately) and I seem to have misplaced my squirrel gun. Dang, guess I’d better stay put.

  2. Yeah, those “5-year plans” don’t work so well for me. I always change my mind because I decide what I *really* want to do after I develop the plan. For now, I’m sticking to making goals!
    And congrats on the house plan! 🙂 It’s so much fun when your sink is leaking and you can’t call the landlord, so you just put a big oil catch pan under the sink until you can get around to replumbing the drain that is leaking….ummm. oops. sorry. No really, having a house is awesome, cause you can paint your rooms crazy colors and plant a garden, and stuff.
    Glad you had a good trip, and happy new years(soon)!

  3. This is a FANTASTIC time to buy a house. Yee-haw! Make sure to fill us in on the house hunting, I LOVE hearing about that stuff.

    I’m with Bag Lady, I have a hard time with even a five minute plan.

  4. Remember a plan is just that, a plan, a rough guide subject to change. It’s not carved in stone or blood, and you can deviate without the world ending. If you change your mind it’s not a fail, just a change of direction. I hope that 2009 brings you all the things you want.

    Oh and I love family habits study time, it is sooo much fun to compassionately judge those around us LOL!!!

    Lola x

  5. Im focusing on the five minute plan as, with so many relatives in and out and the inlaws STILL HERE, the five DAY plan kept getting derailed.

    (bring on routine bring on 09!)

    and the house?? so exciting!!

  6. hi. Just checking back in. Re-read my comment and wanted to apologize for pissing on your parade. I’m having sink issues.
    But truly? Buying a house is awesome, and you can probably get a great deal right now. So congratulations! 🙂

  7. Year of the Reboot! I love it!!! Hope the house buying comes through – what a great goal!

  8. LOL, Bag Lady, I can’t stick to a 5-minute plan, either! So this will be an interesting experiment. Ha!

    Sassy, you crack me up! Believe it or not, that was one of the reasons I kept putting off buying a house: not being able to call a landlord! (Well, that and the no-money thing, LOL.) But I really want a little garden. Woo-hoo! (Oh, and no worries about the comment; I didn’t feel bad or slighted or anything! :D)

    Sue, I totally will keep you informed. I’m pretty excited about this! 😀

    Lola, no worries. This isn’t something I feel neurotic about, so I think I’ll be good. But it’s an idea I’ve had rolling around in my brain for about 10 years or so. It’ll just take a lot of work to make it happen.

    Thanks, Missicat! I have to admit that I’m pretty stoked about it.

Leave a Reply

