Nothing in Particular

I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth, I swear.  I just haven’t had much to say about anything lately.  Work has been busy enough to keep me busy, and Christmas is kicking my ASS.

I’m usually one of “those people” when it comes to Christmas.  By December 1, my tree is up, my cards are addressed and ready to be mailed, all the presents are bought and wrapped.  Then I get to kick back during December and go to parties, HAVE parties, drive around looking at lights – all the stuff I always feel like I don’t have time for when I don’t plan.

But this year I kept thinking, “Oh, yeah, I have to do that.  Oh, and that, too.  Oh, I’ll get to that one later.”  And then it was December and HOLY CRAP, people.  Where did it GO?  I remember being a little kid, and the days would just DRAG.  And I’ve been a super-prepared grown-up, and the Christmas season was just long enough.  But this year?  HOLY CRAP, AGAIN.  That’s how I feel right now.  Yeesh.

I was going to get a bunch of stuff done on Saturday, but then I had a computer emergency.  While trying to move all my iTunes media to an external hard drive, I managed to lose it all.  Crap.  So I spent several hours on Saturday trying to figure out how to get it all back, to no avail.  It’s gone.  Finished.  Kaput.  Now I have to re-burn all my CDs back into the program.  ARGH!  That’ll be my project over my Christmas vacation, I think. 

In other news . . . well, not much.  My back has been hurting, I think because I went from very little exercise to LOTS of exercise, and although the spirit is willing, the body (as they say) is weak.  My back isn’t QUITE up to the level of vigorousness that I’m putting it through right now.  So I had to dial back on the TKD classes a little bit: all those rotating kicks are KILLING me (and not in a good, “My muscles are sore” kind of way).   So I’m doing a lot of Pilates and crunches, and hopefully after Christmas my back will be strong enough to take the activity.

Annnnnd . . . I think that’s all I’ve got right now.  (Of course, now that I’ve written that, I’ll read someone’s blog and think of something fabulous.  Isn’t that how that always works?  LOL)

6 responses to “Nothing in Particular

  1. (I hate when that computer stuff happens. for some reason I can easily ROLL with life but NOT when it is computer related)

    is the back better at all??

  2. Good to know you’re still here! 😉

  3. This year has been a lot more hectic, for some reason. Someone told me it was because the planets were aligned incorrectly. (Well, it’s as good an explanation as any.)

    I hope your back feels better soon! Maybe this is your body’s way of telling you that you need a vacation… in Maui… 😉

  4. Hey Ho. I’m in much the same boat as you! Not much to say either. Glad you checked in, bad luck with the itunes fiasco! That Sucks!

    Lola x

  5. Miz, I KNOW, RIGHT? I actually had to talk myself down on Saturday night: “It’s ok, it’s all re-burnable, you still have the music you downloaded on your iPod, AND IT’S JUST MUSIC. You have your home, your health, a nice apartment, a computer, ALL KINDS OF THINGS OTHER PEOPLE DON’T NECESSARILY HAVE. Breathe. BREATHE, GODDAMMIT!!!!”

    LOL

    Yup, Sassy, I’m not going anywhere. (Though I guess that last post was a bad one to go silient on, huh?)

    Merry! It MUST be Maui!! Seriously, that would be awesome. LOL, the planets explanation works for me! God only knows why this year has been this way. 😛

    Hi Lola. Maybe it’s going around? (The not-writing, not the iTunes part.)

  6. The back! Oh no. I did wonder… damnit. Still, it’s a good reminder to build up slowly and not go all out. Just think of it as your friendly moderation reminder :0) You HAVE been working out in a major way. And good on you for taking notice and taking CARE and getting the pilates stuff in.

    And about the disorganisation? I know it seems hectic, but as a fellow perfectionist I quite enjoy occasionally being late/rushing around/not getting my s**t together. It’s healthy. It’s human. It’s what everybody else does all the time, I hear 😉

    TA x

Leave a Reply

