Quick Hit

There is a full-length post below.

Remember this post?

I went back.  Tonight.  Even though I had a stomachache all afternoon thinking about it.  Even though I was afraid of what people would think of me (and yes, I know no one gives a damn about me, but IN MY HEAD I AM THE CENTER OF THE UNIVERSE, ok?).  Even though I was afraid I wouldn’t make it through another class (I didn’t).

And I stood in the back, and didn’t get sick.  No one pointed or laughed.  A couple of people smiled at me encouragingly.  I had to sit out about half of a class, but that was ok.  I did what I could, and that was enough.

AND, guess what?  I might not be the fittest, or have the most stamina, but one thing I’ve retained since my dancing days?  Flexibility.  I might not be flexible compared to a dancer anymore, but tonight I was the ONLY one in the class who could strech with my head on my knees, AND?  Do the SPLITS.  Aw yeah, baby.  Nice.  🙂

But dude, seriously.  I WENT BACK.  That’s a big deal for me – all my life I’ve bailed on embarrassing situations.  And tonight – I went back.

😀

10 responses to “Quick Hit

  1. Yeah! Good for you, that took guts to do. I’m not sure I would have done. Next time i have a situation like that i will be taking a leaf out of your book!

  2. Good for you!!!!!

    And (because I, in MY head, am the center of the universe) I just wanted you to know that I, too, at my advanced age (almost 51), and in the sorry shape that I am, (overweight, with arthritis and other health concerns) can still touch my toes, nay, lay my palms on the floor from a standing position! Still reasonably flexible, thanks to all that ballet, etc. all those many years ago! But doing the splits? Never could. I bow to your superiority in that regard.

    Oh, wait, this wasn’t about me…….I’m so glad you went back! It will be easier next time.

  3. Congrats! That’s so amazing that you went back and showed the class how flexibility is done! That took some impressive amount of courage, and is a lesson we can all learn 🙂

  4. Good for you. PERSONAL GROWTH, BABY.

    I’m so intimidated by people at gyms/classes. I never use a machine unless I’m absolutely sure I know how, because I don’t want people to point and laugh.

    Who am I kidding, I never go to the gym. As you will realize when you see me on Monday.

  5. DANG IT. Stupid alter ego. That was me. Sometimes I forget who I actually am.

    Also, I mentioned you on my blog today, with a link. Hope that was o.k.

  6. Er… I mean, the comment from Cordy (that is currently in moderation) was from me. I’m not under the impression that I’m also Alyssa Gardina.

    Oh good grief. Sorry for hijacking your comments.

  7. Lola, I was so relieved when it was over, too. I almost had a stomachache from the RELIEF, if that makes sense. LOL

    Bag Lady, you can’t be the center of the universe. I AM THE CENTER OF THE UNIVERSE. 😉 Seriously, though, isn’t that flexibility fabulous? It’s supposed to be good for helping to prevent serious injuries, too. (And FWIW, it took me YEARS to learn to do the splits. I am NOT naturally flexible. I was dancing about 20 hours a week for a year and a half or so before I could do them – and that was on top of about 8 or 10 PREVIOUS years of dancing 2 or 3 hours a week!)

    Hi Alyssa! Welcome! (Now if I can REMEMBER my own lesson the next time, I’ll be set. LOL!)

    Sue/Cordy/Whoever the heck you want to be (;D) – First off, hijack away! That was hilarious. 😀 But regarding the gym – I went Monday for the first time EVER and I only went because I went with a friend, so she could show me how to use the machines, and I could pretend that no one was laughing and pointing at me. (Yeah, I know no one is really laughing and pointing but in my HEAD they all are. *sigh*) So I TOTALLY GET the gym terror.

  8. Wow, way to go! That takes courage to go back.

    And I can’t believe you can do the spits, that’s so cool!

  9. LOL, Crabby, *I* couldn’t believe I could still do the splits, either! I was WAY surprised. 🙂

  10. Im late but the GO YOU!!! sentiment still remains 🙂
    now Im off to see if either I or the Toddler can do the splits.

Leave a Reply

