Autumn is coming . . .

And I’m so happy.  I love the beginning of summer, but the last days just kill me.  The temperatures in the high nineties (sometimes even the low 100’s) – it’s just too hot.  But the last few days there’s been fog in the morning, and the temperature has dropped abruptly to the mid-80s, which feels positively TEMPERATE.  My air conditioner isn’t kicking on every half-hour all night, and the air coming through the windows in the evenings is cool.

And even when it’s in the mid-80s there’s a slight undertone to the air.  A sharpness under the heat that hints of colder days moving in.  I got a chill getting out of the shower last night for the first time in months. 

It makes me think of cold nights and apple cider.  Of Christmas trees and cloudy days and soup and sweaters.  I love it.

And by March or April I will be sick of the cold and the rain and ready for Spring again.  😉

8 responses to “Autumn is coming . . .

  1. Autumn is my favourite too, even though it’s bloody cold in this country! I love the run-up from now to Christmas, especially because nearly all my family and friends are Virgos, Scorpios and Saggitarians, so there’s tons of birthday fun to be had as well as all the Christmas parties.

    Mulled wine and woolly hats, wooo!

    TA x

  2. TOFU = so very very easy.

    For two people.

    Chop a small onion and fry until it’s nice and crispy.

    Chuck in a block of tofu, chopped up as small as possible.

    Add two level teaspoons of tumeric and one of paprika, plus salt and pepper.

    Cook til all is crispy and yellowy gorgeousness.

    Eat (Boy did it with toast and baked beans and it was FIT)

    TA x

  3. Oh, mulled wine! Happiness!

    And YAY for the tofu recipe! I can’t wait to try it! 😀

  4. There’s a metaphor for life there somewhere…

  5. OOoh, Emily, suddenly I’m thinking of that Birds song, “Turn, Turn, Turn.” LOL, I’m a nerd. 😉

  6. Im in New Zealand and so the weather is slowly heating up. Yesterday I took a drive and it was actually hot and I had to wind down the window. So as much as Im glad your enjoying the oncoming winter I am MUCH happier that summer is around the corner. Ah the beaches and bbq’s and sunny christmases. yay.

  7. and yes I am trying to rub it in your face:)

  8. Dan, LOL! But I’m sick of the heat right now, so even beaches and bbq’s don’t sound fun, you know.

    The funny thing is, even though it gets cool for Christmas here in Southern California (usually in the high 60s), it’s very rarely cold enough to snow. So we have sunny Christmases even in the winter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

