Ow ow ow ow ow ow

So I used the Hundred Pushup challenge and applied it to lower-body exercises on Monday.  I did a grand total of 50: right leg lunges, left leg lunges, squats with weights and what I can hamstring “bows,” where you bend over and then flatten your back and use your hamstrings to bring yourself upright again.  (Oh, and I did those weighted, too.)

Yesterday I was sore, and figured that today I’d be ready to go again!

Except.

Today my hamstrings hate me.  Really.  Serious hate, people.  My butt is a little sore, but it doesn’t hate me with the fiery passion of my hamstrings.  I’m not sure I can actually work out today, they hate me so much.  Ow.  Ow owowowowowow.  Like that.

AAaaaaaaaaanyway.  Because the lunges are unhappy things for my knees, I’m going to resurrect some of my old dance exercises.  Because I can’t be the ONLY one with wonky knees, watch this space.  I’ll post some how-to’s later.  That is, how to exercise your quads and butt without lunges or equipment (because I’m too damn lazy to go to the gym) and without jacking up your knees (Yay! for no impact!).  I think I’ve even found some links!

7 responses to “Ow ow ow ow ow ow

  1. holycrapWOMAN!

    I have good (ish. goodISH anyway) knees and I think theyd rebel and move outta town 🙂

  2. Bring on the lunge-replacements! I had to stop lunging at resitance training yesterday in front of everyone because my knee was playing up, it was soooo embarrassing.

    My god you’re going to be superfit! I did about half what you did when I was on holiday last week and I got T.O.N.E.D. just in five days.

    Could it possibly be that cardio is overrated???

    TA x

  3. One thing I’ve found helpful with the knees is to start up very gradually. On lunges and squats I only go down a few inches at the beginning, and gradually increase. It’s amazingly effective for me.

  4. LOL, Miz! That makes me feel better. They didn’t start getting hinky until the end, so I guess they’re not too bad off. I just don’t want to push my luck. 🙂

    TA, I’m beginning to think that cardio is TOTALLY overrated. Not that it’s not useful, but that it’s not the be-all, end-all we make it out to be.

    Hi Marla! That would probably work for me too, but I’d be afraid I’d still do too much too soon. I’m an instant gratification girl, sometimes to my own detriment! Ha!

  5. They can’t hate you that bad if they’re still speaking to you… 😉

    Oh wait, that only applies to people. Damn.

    I am looking forward to the Gymless Workout posts!

  6. Wow! Will wait to hear about your knee-saving exercises..I think my knees are aging faster then the rest of me, and that is fast enough!

  7. LOL, Merry, yeah they hated me pretty bad. They weren’t happy about moving at all! LOL

    Missicat, I finally got them posted – yay!

Leave a Reply

