Shifting ground – the rest of the post

My mom and I had been kicking around the idea of writing a cookbook for a while.  And then, a couple of weeks ago, I was watching Giada on the Food Network and I couldn’t help thinking that Mom and I should pitch a cooking show.  Mom thought it was a great idea, and I know people who have contacts at the Food Network (and who know how to pitch a show), so it’s actually within the realm of possibility.  So after crying on the couch forever on Monday, that was what we came away with. 

Mom and I are going to write a cookbook, and then based on that cookbook, we’re going to pitch a cooking show.  I figure we’ve got a couple of good hooks: there’s the mother/daughter angle, and the fact that she’s a vegetarian and I’m not.  We figure we’ll pitch the mother/daughter angle as the entertainment factor, and the fact that a lot of families are blended vegetarians/meat-eaters – and how to cook for those blended families – will be the “educational” angle.   So yay!

I may also go back to school for a CPA certification as well.  We have a friend of the family who is a CPA, and he decided to do that so that he could stay home with the kids.  He works 3 months a year like CRAZY, and the rest of the year he takes care of the kids.  He has an income in the mid-six-figures because he only deals with condos and HOAs – no individual returns. 

For now I’m pretty much focusing on the cooking show and the cookbook, though.  And I LOVE cooking, so I’m really excited!  🙂  Maybe I can have my cake and eat it, too: I’ll get to be on TV and not have to deal with quite so much of the BS that goes with acting.  We’ll see how things go.  😀

Leave a Reply

